Follow Me

Monday, 28 October 2013

Grand Theft Auto V wins Game of the Year

Grand Theft Auto V was crowned Game of the Year at the Golden Joystick Awards, beating The Last of Us.
A record-breaking 10 million votes were cast for the awards, which were presented by Green Man Gaming today.
The Last of Us lost out on the most prestigious award, but won Best Newcomer and Best Storytelling.
As the games industry prepares for the launch of the next generation of consoles in November, all eyes were on the Most Wanted category which included both Sony’s PS4 and Microsoft’s Xbox.
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt won the award, showing it was the game the public were most excited to get their hands on.
Call of Duty, which has sold more than 160 million copies worldwide for its series, was honoured with a Hall of Fame award that was decided by the Golden Joystick Awards and not the gaming public.
For the first time in its 31 year history, the awards also honoured an individual for their lifetime’s work with BioShock Creative Director and Co-Founder of Irrational Games Ken Levine winning the special Lifetime Achievement award.
He said: "In most fields, people begin their careers being inspired by others. In turn, they hopefully end up inspiring others.
"The great thing about the still-maturing nature of video games is you get to be inspired by the work of novices and veterans alike. We're all figuring out day by day exactly what the medium is capable of.”
The awards took place on 25 October
The Innovation of the Year award in association with T3 went to Oculus Rift with twenty-one-year-old Palmer Luckey, the founder of the game-changing technology, personally accepting the award.
Andy Robinson, editor of Golden Joysticks and CVG, says: "This year’s Golden Joystick Awards have seen a record-breaking 10 million votes, proving that even after 31 years they’re still the awards that best represent the voice of gamers worldwide.
"With revamped categories to reflect the diversity of modern gaming and the addition of the inaugural Lifetime Achievement award, which was deservedly presented to Ken Levine, one of the most interesting creators working in games, this year’s ceremony has been the most thrilling yet.”

The winners of the Golden Joystick Awards presented by Green Man Gaming are:
Best Newcomer
The Last of Us
Most Wanted in association with Playfire
Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
Best Indie Game
Mark of the Ninja
Best Visual Design
BioShock Infinite
Best Multiplayer
Payday 2
Best Gaming Moment in association with Absolute Radio
Far Cry 3 - The Definition of Insanity
Studio of the Year in association with MPG Universal
Naughty Dog
Innovation of the Year in association with T3
Oculus Rift
Best Storytelling
The Last of Us
Best Online Game
World of Tanks
Best Handheld Game
Assassin's Creed III: Liberation
YouTube Gamer Award in association with YouTube
Best Gaming Platform in association with Digital Spy
Best Mobile/Tablet Game of the Year
XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Game of the Year
Grand Theft Auto V
Hall of Fame
Activision: Call of Duty
Lifetime Achievement
Ken Levine

previous article
Newer Post
next article
Older Post


Email *

Message *